Total 36 candidates are contesting in Parkal bypoll

A total of 431 candidates had filed their papers till Friday, the last day for filing nominations for bypolls to 18 Assembly constituencies and the lone Lok Sabha seat on June 12.

On Friday, 212 candidates jumped into the byelection fray. The largest number of nominations was received at Tirupati where 45 contestants registered for the bypolls with the lowest number witnessed in Narasannapet where only 10 nominations were filed.

The constituency-wise break up of candidates is 36 for Parkal, 14 in Payakaraopeta, 11 in Polavaram (ST), 25 in Kodur (SC), 30 in Allagadda, 30 in Ramachandrapuram, 12 in Rayadurgam, 24 in Rayachoti, 14 in Narsapuram, 30 in Ongole, 26 in Macherla, 19 in Udayagiri, 23 in Anantapur Urban, 29 in Rajampeta and 17 each in Prattipadu (SC) and Emmiganur.