Pranab Mukherjee wins Presidential election

UPA nominee Pranab Mukherjee wins the Presidential eletion with a vote value count of 5,57,968 as against his BJP-backed rival P.A. Sangma who could garner 2,40,005.

It has been an emphatic win for the former Finance Minister who defeated Sangma with a landslide margin. Pranab Mukherjee’s residence on Talkatora Road burst into celebrations after hearing his win in the presidential election.

With 70% vote share of the electoral college comprising MPs and MLAs of state legislatures, Pranab thus becomes the 13the President of India and is all ste to move into the majestic bungalow at Raisina Hill.

He will be sworn in on 25 July as the 13th President of India.