Parties choose highly qualified candidates for Parkal bypoll

The two back-to-back byp-olls in Warangal including Station Ghanpur and Par-kal seats is seeing political parties fielding educated contestants with a few holding high levels of professional qualifications in their respective subjects.

Though lack of educational degrees is not yet a bar to contest in elections, the trend of highly educated ones getting party tickets is a new development.

This new trend received a boost when BJP decided to field orthopaedic surgeon and Indian Medical Association (IMA) state president Dr P. Vijaychander Reddy, 53, a highly qualified doctor but a rank outsider for Parkal seat while overlooking other regular party heavyweights like former MP C. Janga Reddy. A native of Atmakur, Dr Vijaychander Reddy completed his MBBS (1978-83) from Kakatiya Medical College before doing MS (Ortho) at Kasturba Medical College, Mangalore based on an all India entrance exam.

With the exception of the Congress’ nominee Mr S Samma Rao, 54, whose affidavit papers show him to have studied only up to Class X at Malkaji High School, Hanamkonda, the other three contestants fielded by Telugu Desam, TRS and YSR Congress have basic degree qualifications as mentioned in their affidavits.

The TD nominee Mr Challa Dharma Reddy, 44, has a Bachelor of Arts from Kakatiya Degree College, Hanamkonda, where he completed his education in 1989.

Similarly, the pro-Jagan leader and Yuvajana Sramika Rythu YSR) Congress nominee Ms Konda Surekha, 46, has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Kakatiya Uni-versity. The TRS Parkal nominee and constituency in charge Mr Bikshapathi Mologuri, 57, too is a B.Com graduate from KU Arts and Science College.

Interestingly, the recently concluded Station Ghanpur bypoll in March also had all three contestants from TRS, Desam and Congress with professional qualifications.

The Station Ghanpur bypoll winner and the TRS nominee Dr Thatikonda Rajaiah, 54, is a 1984 batch MBBS graduate followed by two-year specialist DCH course from Kakatiya Medical College in 1986.

TRS’s Dr Rajaiah had defeated TD Station Ghanpur contestant Mr Kadiam Srihari, 62, who is a 1975 batch MSc in chemistry postgraduate from Osmania University. Bef-ore joining politics, he was a junior college lecturer in chemistry at Government Junior College, Hanamko-nda for over a decade.

The Congress’s Rajarapu Pratap, 44, who came in third in Station Ghanpur bypoll, has a diploma in paramedical course from Wardha-based Mahatma Gandhi Medical Institute in Maharashtra.