Konda Murali disqualified from AP legislative council(MLC)

Legislative Council Chairman A. Chakrapani on Monday disqualified the membership of Warangal MLC Konda Murali with immediate effect following a complaint from the Congress Legislature Party for openly associating with the YSR Congress. Mr Murali was disqualified on grounds of defection. He was elected for a six-year term in 2009.

Earlier, Government Whip Y. Sivaramireddy had petitioned the Council Chairman seeking disqualification of three Congress MLCs, Konda Murali, Pulla Padmavati and S.V. Mohan Reddy for “anti-party activities and for associating with the YSRC and its leader Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy. The Congress sought disqualification under Rule 2(1)(A) under the 10th Schedule of the Constitution. After the Council Chairman initiated started regular hearing on the matter, including summoning the members to offer their explanations. Mr Mohan Reddy preferred to resign while Ms Padmavathi said she repented her associating with the YSRC. Her apology was accepted by the CM and the petition was withdrawn

Mr Murali did not turn up for the hearing despite repeated summons and sent his advocate to appear on his behalf. He was subsequently disqualified. Mr Murali dismissed the disqualification by saying that the people have disqualified the Congress and it will be routed in the next elections.