BJP may ditch TJAC, to enter Parkal bypoll fight

In a clear rebuff to TRS chief K. Chandrasekhar Rao’s appeal to let his party contest the byelection for the Parkal Assembly seat, the BJP on Monday decided to field its own candidate. The BJP core committee, which met here, took the final decision to contest the byelection after the TRS refused to relent from its decision to contest the seat. The decision has put the Telangana Joint Action Committee (TJAC) in a fix, as its chairman, Prof Kodandaram, had been trying to ensure only one party, either the TRS or the BJP, contest to avoid a split in pro-Telangana votes.

With both parties sticking to their guns, the TJAC leadership is now in a fix over lending its support. “We have decided to contest the election (in Parkal). The TRS should have given the seat to the BJP (as) it is not the sole party in Telangana. the TRS’s behaviour is atrocious,” BJP national secretary K. Laxman told this newspaper.

Flaying the TRS leadership, including MP Vijayashanti for her comments against the BJP, Dr Laxman said, “The TRS is feeling frustrated after the defeat in the Mahbubnagar bypoll. The TRS leaders are trying to blackmail TJAC leaders. We are also a member of TJAC and should get an equal opportunity to contest (the polls).” Meanwhile, the BJP brass, including Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj and senior leaders like Prakash Javdekar and Smriti Irani, have been asked to campaign for the party in AP.

TD to contest in parkal, says Rao
The Telugu Desam will contest the byelection in the Parkal Assembly constituency and party chief N. Chandrababu Naidu will lead the campaign. This was confirmed by TD Telangana Forum convener E. Dayakar Rao on Monday. Mr Rao said, “We had said if the Telangana Joint Action Committee fields a candidate, the party will back it. Since the TJAC is unable to field a candidate, the TD will contest.”

Mr Naidu will address a public meeting on May 23 and undertake intensive campaign in the only Assembly constituency in Telangana region for which bypoll will be held. The forum met on Monday to decide on whether to contest Parkal byelection and also prepare an action plan for the bypolls. Mr Rao said the T-TD Forum has decided to mobilise all the top leaders of the party from the 119 Assembly constituencies in Telangana for the Parkal election.