All Parties take Telangana solgan to win the parkal bypoall

All political parties fighting for Parkal seat in the upcoming bypoll are doing so on the Telangana plank. The fight for this seat is significant as four out of the five political parties in the fray — Congress, Telugu Desam, YSR Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party — have stakes in Seemandhra, and yet promise Telangana.

TRS is the only regional party with Telangana as its sole agenda. Even though it has an edge over others, it strongly needs the support of TJAC in view of the recent debacle in Mahbubnagar. While the Congress vows that it alone can carve out Telangana, the BJP promises to do so in 2014. The Telugu Desam says that it has given a letter to the Pranab Mukherjee committee on Telangana and stands by it. Interestingly, YSR Congress which is contesting polls for the first time in Telangana left it to the Centre to decide on statehood. Its nominee, Konda Surekha vows that she quit her Assembly seat for Telangana (not for Jagan) and seeks support from people.

“The TRS will win the elections with a thumping majority. We have conducted an independent survey and the result is amazing,” Mr Etela Rajender, TRS Floor leader in the Assembly said. The party is undertaking “Intinta Gulabi”, a door-to-door campaign now.